Murray named top seed at Wimbledon



Originally published on 28/06/17 00:00

The world No.1 and defending champion, who has endured a difficult year, will launch proceedings on Centre Court on the first day of the Championships. Djokovic, currently playing in Eastbourne, is the second seed and he is followed by Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal.

It is the first time since the 2014 edition of Wimbledon that the ‘Big Four’ have been named as the top four seeds at a Grand Slam – and they cannot meet until the semi-final stage.

Stan Wawrinka, Milos Raonic, Marin Cilic, Dominic Thiem, Kei Nishikori and Alexander Zverev complete the top 10 line up.

Feliciano Lopez, who triumphed at Queen’s Club last week, is seeded No.19 and Juan Martin Del Potro is positioned at No.30. The Italian, Paolo Lorenzi, claimed the final seeded spot.

In the women's draw, last year’s finalist and world No.1, Angelique Kerber, is the top seed. Simona Halep, still chasing a first Grand Slam title, is the second seed and she is followed by Karolina Pliskova and Elina Svitolina.

Caroline Wozniacki, Johanna Konta, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Dominika Cibulkova, Agnieszka Radwanska and Venus Williams have all secured a top 10 seeding. The 2016 champion, Serena Williams, is pregnant and will miss Wimbledon for the first time in 11 years.

Two-time Wimbledon champion, Petra Kvitova, prepared for the third Grand Slam of the year by winning the Aegon Classic in Birmingham last week, and she is the No.11 seed. French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko, occupies No.13 and the 2015 finalist, Garbine Muguruza, is the No.15 seed.

The draw for the Wimbledon Championships will take place on Friday.


Copy link
Powered by Social Snap