Murray and Berdych headline Queen’s entries



Originally published on 30/04/14

Czech Tomas Berdych (6) is the highest-ranked player to sign up the event but defending champion Andy Murray (8) is likely to again be the main attraction.

They will be joined in the field by fellow top-20 stars Jo Wilfried-Tsonga (13), Grigor Dimitrov (14), Kevin Anderson (19) and Ernests Gulbis (20).

Former Wimbledon champion Lleyton Hewitt will also be in action as will last year’s runner-up Marian Cilic.

“We can't wait for the tournament to get underway,” said tournament director Ross Hutchins, who is in his first year in the role after replacing Chris Kermode. “The Aegon Championships player entry list includes current champions such as Andy Murray, established stars like Lleyton Hewitt and exciting young talent in Grigor Dimitrov, Ernests Gulbis and Dominic Thiem, among many others.

“They will compete for a trophy at The Queen's Club that has been lifted in the open era by Rod Laver, John McEnroe, Boris Becker and Pete Sampras.”

Also signed up for 2014 are Americans Sam Querrey and Jack Sock, Australian Bernard Tomic and Alexandr Dolgopolov.

The tournament gets underway on June 9 and on finals day there will be a mixed doubles charity match involving Murray and Hutchins as part of Rally For Bally. The proceeds will be split between the Elena Baltacha Academy of Tennis and the Royal Marsden Cancer Charity.

Meanwhile, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal will compete at the Gerry Weber Open in Halle along with Milos Raonic, Kei Nishikori and Tommy Haas.


Copy link
Powered by Social Snap